Skip To Main Content
Skip To Main Content

Notable Alumni

U.S. Representatives:


Federal Judges:

Judge Girard E. Kalbfleisch, U.S. Dist. Ct. N.Dist. OH.
Judge Richard L. Speer, U.S. Bankr. Ct, N.Dist. OH.
Judge Gregory L. Frost, U.S. Dist. Ct. S.Dist. OH
Judge Jessica Price Smith, U.S. Bankr. Ct, N.Dist. OH


David C. Meck, Sr. (founded John Marshall Law School in Cleveland, originally affiliated with Ohio Northern, now affiliated with Cleveland State)
David Hanson, Chief Financial Office, Phillips Exeter Academy
Fowler V. Harper, Professor, Yale Law School
William T. Mawer, II, Professor, Legal Studies Department, Southeastern Oklahoma State University

Attorney Generals: 

William J. Brown, youngest Attorney General in Ohio
Michael DeWine, Ohio Attorney General; U.S. Senate, Ohio

U.S. Senators:

Simeon Davison Fess, OH, 1889, Years Served: 1920's
Frank Bartlett Willis, OH, 1893, Years Served: 1920's
John Marshall Robsion, U.S. Senate, Kentucky
Arthur Raymond Robinson, U.S. Senate, Indiana

Supreme Court of Ohio:

Edward Shiloh Matthias, Justice, Supreme Court of Ohio; longest serving justice
Robert R. Cupp, former Justice, Supreme Court of Ohio; Judge, Ohio Court of Appeals, 3rd Appellate District; State Senate, Ohio
Reuben M. Wanamaker, Associate Justice, Supreme Court of Ohio

U.S. Attorney:

Michael CritesUnited States Attorney for the Southern District of Ohio (served 1986-1993)

State Senators: 

Jane Earll, Pennsylvania State Senator for the 94th District (served 1997-2013)
James V. Espaldon, Guam (served 2007-2011)

State Representatives:

Danny R. Bubp, Ohio House of Representatives, 88th District (served 2004-2012)
Mark Okey, Ohio House of Representatives, 61st District (served 2007-2013)

State Attorney:

Scott Rolle, Frederick County State's Attorney, MD (served 1995-2007)

Additional Prominent Alumni: 

Anthony J. Celebrezze, State Senate, Ohio; Mayor, Cleveland; U.S. Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare
Jay P. Taggart, Dean, Namesake of Taggart Law Library
Earle B. Tilton, Namesake of Tilton Hall of Law
Lenora (Lena) B. Wilcox Maxon, First Female ONU Law Graduate
Laurence Neal Woodworth, Chief of Staff of the Joint Committee, Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Tax Policy
Aaron S. Watkins, Prohibition Party Candidate for President and Vice-President (I don't know if he earned his degree from the law department) 

Additional Successful Alumni:

Heather M. Barnes, Partner, Brouse McDowell
Gregory S. Berman, Partner, Wyatt, Tarrant, & Combs, LLP
Benjamin Brafman, Attorney, New York, NY
Robert E. Brosky (1943-2011), retired President & Chief Executive Office, First Federal Savings of Lorain
Thomas W. Cranmer, Principal, Litigation and Dispute Resolution Group Co-Leader
Kelly Savage Day, Special Counsel, Sedgwick Law
Charles A. De Monaco, Partner, Fox Rotschild, LLP
Harry A. Dorian, Jr., Managing Shareholder, Dorian, Goldstein, Wisniewski & Orchinik, PC
John W. Draskovic, Partner, MacDonald Illig
Mitchell Falber, General Counsel & Senior Executive Vice President, ABC Carpet & Home
Gregory S. Fehribach, Of Counsel, Coninger, Tuohy, & Bailey, LLP
Richard H. Ferro, Assistant Attorney General, Medicaid Fraud Control Unit, Criminal Justice Section, State of Colorado
Neil F. Freund, Partner, Freund, Freeze & Arnold
Susan F. Garwood, Partner, Venable, LLP
John H. Genovese, Partner, Genovese, Joblove & Battista
Laurel C. Gillespie, TRICARE Management Activity, Defense Legal Services Agency, Department of Defence, U.S. Government
W. Michael Gradisek, Partner, Duane Morris
Neill Hamilton, Assistant Deputy Public Defender, New Jersey Public Defender's Office
Kevin E. Hexstall, Shareholder, Marshall, Dennehey, Warner, Coleman & Goggin
Patricia S. Hofstra, Partner, Duane Morris 
Donald W. Hughes, Partner, Squire Sanders
Paula B. Mays, Trademark Attorney formerly with the United States Patent and Trademark Office
Michael P. McCormick, Partner, Hanlon, Estadt, McCormick & Schramm Co., LPA
Jay K. Reisinger, Partner, Farrell & Reisinger, LLC
Robert S. Ryan, Partner, Wyatt, Tarrant, & Combs, LLP - President, ONU Law Alumni Association Board
Christopher J. Sedmak, Federal Bureau of Investigation
Parag Shah, Partner, Shah Law Firm
Jerry Skinner, Aviation Attorney, ONU Law Alumni Association Board Past President
Daniel J. Sullenbarger, Vice President Corporate Compliance & Ethics, Marathon Oil Company
Susan A. Wetzel, Partner, Haynes Boone


Warren Ballentine, Motivational Speaker and Talk Show Host